by Tammy Barbour

So my husband looks across the dinner table at me one evening last year and said “Let’s drive to South America all the way to the end of Argentina.” I froze, my fork full of food stopping just short of putting it in my mouth. My first response was “What??” then “Can we even do that?”

That was his chance to explain his dream to me and get me on board. Excitedly, he spoke about the Pan American Highway, Aztecs, Mayans, Inca’s the Andes and Patagonia,  all sorts of exotic things. Luckily with my experience in driving with him through Central America before, I understood it all. I thought about it for a split second and then I said “YES”.
We do not have the HOW all figured out but the WHY is….. Why not and because we want to. We want to experience lands, people, and cultures different from our own. My husband and I are inflicted with the same incurable condition: an insatiable case of wanderlust that is currently flaring up for both of us.
We now have lots of travel books and have done tons of research on border crossings and logistics, etc. Over the next few months we will prepare for our grand journey which may take about a year. Do we have everything figured out or have tons of money saved for this trip? No. But our WHY is big enough to overcome any issues we may encounter. Besides, it is the journey, not the destination. And thus Tales of the Pan American Highway was born…… and now you know the rest of the story.
tales of the pan am final cut0002 120015067 il_570xN.629326744_lybc mappa_sudamerica-590
Leave a Reply

