Rumfish. It’s whats for dinner

Posted: June 23, 2014 by Central America Overland Expeditions in Expedition/Travel
Tags: , , , , , ,

Sitting there enjoying fine dining and ambience you could imagine yourself in some swanky upscale high-priced restaurant in NYC, LA or Paris. Other than watching the locals and tourist stroll by on the small one lane street below did I continue to remind myself that I’m on a small peninsula, Placencia. It’s was my wife’s 29th birthday again and lucky for me I thought ahead to make reservations, good thing, it began to fill out quickly and this was supposed to be low season. We arrived at the Rumfish Restaurant promptly at 7pm, were seated and ordered drinks. We felt right at home and comfortable, and the waiters very attentive.  Shortly afterwards the owner, John came over to our table to say hello, welcomed us and tell us what the specials were for the evening. Of course Lobster season has just begun here in Belize and I was keenly aware to see what delicious Lobster meals would be on the menu. I was not disappointed.

052Once we ordered we settled back into quiet conversation and people watched from the veranda. It was great see both locals and tourist strolling by in the evening calm walking eating ice cream, riding bikes and golf carts. We also spied a few small boys in convoy riding their bikes carrying fishing poles to do some night fishing from the Placencia Pier.What a great view, the cool breeze, the soft music and comfortable surroundings. Soon I had an appetizer of conch fritters in front of me and my wife had two wonderful appetizers instead of dinner because she found a variety of appetizers that she liked. ” I’m having two appetizers” she said laughingly to the waiter. All I could muster up was ” It’s your Birthday.”

002After my appetizer I felt too full to eat what I had ordered, but when it came to our table I somehow mustered up another appetite. Finishing our wonderful meal, my wife and I were surprised when John’s wife Pam and our waiter came over with a slice of Key Lime pie with a candle to acknowledge her birthday. The pie smelled and looked so good my wife almost finished it before the candle was blown out. That wonderful unexpected and thoughtful gesture made out night. We certainly enjoyed ourselves and it was evident that many visiting Placencia as well as the locals enjoy RumFish Restaurant as well. If you’re visiting Placencia we highly recommend you go there.

003 007 010 011 012

 

http://www.rumfishyvino.com/

Rumfish y vino located in Placencia, Belize Central America is a “gastro-bar” offering local draft beers, a full bar, and ‘small plates’ style dining as well as a menu of great classic comfort foods with a Belizean twist and international fusion fare. A place for locals and tourists alike. Known for having the best wine list in Belize,  Rumfish y vino proudly imports all of their own wines. The atmosphere is breezy, cool, with lilting music… overlooking the cricket field. Outdoor and indoor dining, and a large rectangular bar with comfortable seating and wonderful views.

Leave a Reply

