What’s at the end of the Yucatan?

Posted: February 3, 2013 by Central America Overland Expeditions in Expedition/Travel
Tags:

Today I continue to hear the song over and over again in my head, as we left Chichen Itza and headed on over to Cancun. ” On the road again, like a band of Gypsies we go down the highway” I hear it as if Willie Nelson was sitting on my shoulder. The miles or I should say kilometers past by and I finally see my first road sign for Cancun and its 623 k’s or about 400 miles I think. I began to realize the Yucatan peninsula is a big place. One thing about this is very good though, we are mostly on the Mexican Turnpike or toll road  as some of you might call it back home. We enjoyed the turnpike, settled in at a nice 100k’s (62mph) and keep the trucks in the right lane moving east. It’s fun driving in Mexico on the toll roads. Many of the toll roads are new and well maintained, and driving them reminds me of driving in Europe. Everybody stays to the right except to pass. It was not uncommon for us to see a lot of late model cars clipping along at 80 plus while we enjoyed what scenery there is to see. Just like in the states many of the tolls roads by pass all the interesting and fun things we would like to experience but we were on a mission to get to Cancun.

068 072 261I feel weird coming to Cancun this way. I mean driving all the way from home to Cancun? “Who does that?” I thought. As we got closer I noticed the vegetation change, the humidity rise and things got really flat. Also, we were beginning to see a lot of signs for all kinds of ruins, cenotes, caves and water falls. Life, I could tell, here on the Yucatan is very different than the Pacific coast.

032 027 031Soon we see the sign for Cancun, and I can’t get how weird this feels driving to Cancun. I feel like I should be getting back on a cruise ship. But, no I’m actually here in one of the top rated travel vacation spots in the world and I drove. It was taking me a little while to process but it was and still is odd. The thing was when I saw the cruise ship people, I felt sorry for them. Laughing to myself, thinking they ( the cruise ship people) have to run around and hurry and get back on the ship and we’ll be here for while. Now it was time to look for camping, and what a great place we found.

071 001 011 013And you’ll never guess what we find at the end of the Yucatan Peninsula.

Comments
  1. Looks like the perfect place! Where is it?

Leave a Reply

